Archive for May 23rd, 2009

h1

Why I Am Not A Rock Star

May 23, 2009

There was a time when I was interested in a career in music. And I worked very, very hard … at the look. Not so much at the music side of things. Luckily, I had my brother along for the ride, and he knows what he’s doing when it comes to guitars, etc.

The latest episode of Weather Station 3, the audio version of this site, features some blasts from the past: snippets from bad 80s demo tapes, made during my metal years. These feature me drumming and on acoustic guitar, with my brother on big chunky riffs. You’ll also hear a rough early mix of a song called Alone In The Night, on which I sing, and play every instrument except lead guitar (my brother again).

I like to take these songs out and listen to them every few years, usually around the time I start convincing myself I ever had actual musical ability. They’re good for a laugh.

Check them out here.