h1

My Powers Have Returned!

November 16, 2010

Yes, loyal readers, I have triumphed over evil, kicked the Kryptonite into the ocean and flown to the sun, restoring my dormant super-abilities and returning to action. I apologize for my absence; I had to fight seven evil exes, and it took a lot out of me. Well, just one. Also, I had a cold.

When the cold went away, something strange happened: my sense of smell returned. It has now been about six weeks, and I’m still overwhelmed each day that the fifth sense — I lost it in my early teens due to a sinus condition combined with several fists to the schnoz — has returned. With the return of my sense of smell, I am in perfect health, except for the blind right eye, gimpy leg, asthma, fatal allergies and really bad sense of humour.

So. In re-exploring the world of scent, I have come to some conclusions regarding humans’ ability to smell. It’s a necessary sense, I say, although, to be honest, the only real hurdle I faced over my 30 years of nasal numbness involved getting the kids to sniff suspect milk before pouring it over their Corn Flakes, and a heavy reliance on carbon monoxide detectors. And here are some other good points/bad points:

  • Good: Homemade pasta sauce, Elizabeth’s cookies, my mother’s roast chicken, my Kenyan coffee blend.
  • Bad: The KFC near my house.
  • Good: Gasoline. Wow, I forgot about the smell of gasoline.
  • Bad: The washroom at the food court at the mall downtown. Wow, I forgot about the smell of homeless people who spend all their time in a food court.
  • Good: Bakeries. Yeah, it’s kind of like the first one, but really, I could spend days in bakeries.
  • Bad: Other people smoking. Five years after quitting, I have finally become “that guy,” the ex-smoker who waves his hand in front of his face while passing someone standing outside having a fag.
  • Good: Elizabeth’s perfume, finally.
  • Bad: The cologne she bought me a couple of Christmases ago. Yeekers. Now I know why you look at me funny.
  • Good: Bedsheets that were hung to dry on the line. How can old flannel smell like sunshine?
  • Bad: Sportswriters. How can old people smell like soggy Corn Flakes?

Meanwhile, my moustache continues to come in nicely. Someone called me “officer” the other day, or maybe that was a dream. You can donate to the thing under my nose at www.TacheRangersSyndicate.com if you want to help fight prostate cancer.

One comment

  1. You’re looking more and more like my uncle.



Leave a Reply

