h1

Today’s Podcast: An Apotheosis of a Bombast

October 3, 2010

I had to go back and look up how to spell the title of this one. It always foncuses me, but then again, I never pretended to be smart that all. An Apotheosis of a Bombast is a weekly trans-Atlantic exploration of the wild, the weird and the wacky, hosted by two cool cats named Scott and Elton. Yes, his name is Elton. He’s even English and might also wear giant sunglasses while signing autographs.

Apotheosis is a solidly produced and reliably engaging show that I enjoy, because it always makes me say ‘hey, that sounds interesting, and when I get back to the office I’m going to Google what they were talking about while pretending to look busy!’ Thanks, dudes.

Also, Elton has that great British accent that means he says things like “wifout.” And I love that. Listen here.

3 comments

  1. Spain.


  2. I always wonder if the last part of their show name comes from a song by The Fall. I’d like to think the Manchester band brought some of the “Bombast” as an inspiration.


  3. Thanks for the kind words and bringing to my attention that I have to make some adjustments to my blog/forum reading habits.

    @Greg, Apotheosis of a Bombast is the name of a term paper my friend, Joe De Felice, and I co-wrote in 11th grade Physics class. Our grade in the class was locked in at a B+ no matter what we earned on the paper… 0 or 100, so we wrote a one paragraph disclaimer that we knew this was the case and that we were going to dish the dirt on all that went on in the class behind the instructors back on the subsequent pages (homework answers and projects that had been photocopied and recirculated for years, the “teachers edition” a fellow student had purchased, etc.,). We invited the teacher to give us a 0 and move on to the next paper, but to read it only at his own peril.

    We never got the paper back, but we did end up with A’s for the class, and the course was totally restructured the following year.

    “An Apotheosis of a Bombast” is literally the definition of those two terms… “An Apotheosis” is “a perfect example” and bombast is “inflated speech or writing”. In the case of that paper, it was the ultimate example of pompous and pretentious discourse on our part… and it seemed the ideal name for a podcast.

    -Scott Copperman-



Leave a Reply

