h1

What’s Up, Doc?

August 15, 2010

As I sat down here at Weather Station 1’s groovy ’70s-style nerve centre to write another article for you fine people, I discovered that someone beat me to it. My plan was to call on Warner Brothers to revive the Looney Tunes stable of characters, but it turns out the moviemakers are one step ahead of me. For once.

Here’s an article outlining the plan; make sure you read the comments section.

We never called the show Looney Tunes when I was a kid; it was the Bugs Bunny/Roadrunner Hour. And it was always on. You could count on being able to catch Bugs, Daffy, Marvin the Martian, Tweety and Elmer Fudd early in the morning, at lunch and after school.

My kids know the characters from Space Jam. And that’s it. At Cats & Dogs the other day, WB premiered an animated 3D CGI short featuring Wile E. Coyote and Roadrunner in one of those classic desert sequences, complete with an Acme bungee cord and plenty of violent physical abuse heaped on the coyote. It was great, it was funny, it was a bit weird, being 3D CGI and all, but best of all, it got my daughter to ask who those characters were.

So I’m on the hunt for vintage Bugs. I know there’s a bad movie with Brendan Fraser (like that needs to be said) from a few years ago, but I’m thinking the stuff from my childhood. If I can get my kids watching cartoon animals beat the crap out of one another, try to kill one another and occasionally cross-dress, well, I’ve done my job.

One comment

  1. Many hours of my childhood were spent watching Baby Looney Tunes. That show was awesome.



Leave a Reply

