Archive for June 24th, 2010

h1

Science Fiction Theatre

June 24, 2010

Here’s an episode of a science fiction TV series from 1955 that was broadcast in colour. Shows how much I know … I didn’t think colour had been invented yet. Hey, the photos of my parents from that era are all in black-and-white. This is the sort of thing that gets me in trouble for being stupid, like the time in Grade 8 when I asked the teacher if people floated around before gravity was discovered.

Science Fiction Theatre was the precursor to The Outer Limits and The Twilight Zone. This episode explores time travel, a subject we talked about recently on the podcast. There’s also a really interesting article at cracked.com that explores the weird serendipitiness of this program and a kid from Canada, which is how I ended up watching Science Fiction Theatre this morning. Luckily, as a professional science fiction talker-abouter, I can write this time off as a business expense.

Note that the actor playing the weird neighbour is Warren Stevens, who played Rojan the Kelvan in the Star Trek: TOS episode By Any Other Name, in which he wore an orangey-pink jumpsuit.

I like the fact that there’s a robot vacuum cleaner in this. Of all the things to predict … the sonic broom? Awesome.

Hear more about this sort of thing here at Starbase 66, the International Star Trek and Science Fiction podcast, featuring two Americans and me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers