h1

The Philadelphia Flyers

June 2, 2010

The Flyers just won Game 3 of the Stanley Cup Final, 4-3 in overtime, against the Chicago Blackhawks.

I’m a lifelong Flyers fan. After my Vancouver Canucks, the Flyers have been a favourite of mine, something that stems from the early 1970s when they were playing hard, fierce hockey and winning Stanley Cups and losing teeth in vicious fights. Years later, I played in a men’s league for a team that used the Flyers logo and colours (we excelled at falling down, because “men’s league” is code for “beer on the bench.”

I have a soft spot for that classic winged P logo, which hasn’t changed in my lifetime, and for the skilled players that make up this current roster. They worked hard for this, and it’s good to see them back in the final.

I had a Chicago Blackhawks sweater when I was little, and I liked it because it had an Indian on it. That’s about as far as that went.

All in all, though, I’m happy to see two old-school teams fighting it out for hockey’s top prize. There are too many teams in the NHL these days, and I can’t even keep track of most of them. I see things like Columbus vs. Nashville, or Ducks vs. Thrashers, and I have no connection to what’s going on. To me, the NHL has 18 teams, and the New Jersey Devils are the new guys.

Leave a Reply

