h1

A Joke

April 7, 2010

Three dogs are sitting on a curb.

“Nice day,” says the first dog. “Might be the nicest day I’ve had in a long time.”

“Not me,” says the second dog. “For me, the best day I ever had was the day my master picked me at the dog pound. He brought me home, gave me a bed of my own and fed me and rubbed behind my ears, and I knew that at last, finally, I had a home with a  master who loved me. That was my best day ever.”

“Well,” says the third dog, “my best day ever was the first day my master took me to the beach. I played in the water, I could run wherever I wanted and there were all kinds of delicious smells and tastes. That day at the beach was my best day ever.”

The first dog thinks about this. “All right,” he says, “I would say my best day ever was the day I broke my leash and ran away. I went downtown and ate from the garbage behind a restaurant, and met some other stray dogs and ran wild, and got with some fine bitches. I would say that was my best day ever.”

Just then, a horse comes clip-clopping up the road and stops. “I couldn’t help but overhear,” he says. “And I want to tell you dogs that you have no idea what makes a good day, because you’ve never been on a fox hunt. Until you have raced over the moors under the moonlight, until you have chased that rascal fox down, until you have had your master give you a rubdown afterward and tell you you did an excellent job, until you have done that, you have no idea what makes a good day.”

The first dog looks at the other two. “Holy shit,” he says. “A talking horse.”

Leave a Reply

