h1

Parsley Days

February 9, 2010

A few years back, I drifted off on the sofa while watching something on M: The Movie Network, one of the hundreds of stupid channels I used to get when I had a satellite dish. I woke up in the small hours, as dawn was breaking, and went to bed after turning off the TV.

Later, after some coffee, it occurred to me that I had seen something strange on that television as I stumbled around, not even close to awake. It was a naked woman, lying in a bathtub full of salad. “Weird dream,” I told myself, and forgot about it.

Years later, I was switching channels when I saw the naked lady in the tub, and I realized it was a real image, and a real movie: Parsley Days. I waited for it to come back on (because those movie channels repeat Canadian content several times a day), and I watched it. I can’t describe it without it sounding stupid, but really, it isn’t. It’s a nice little story about an artsy girl who rides a bike; she’s pregnant, and is immersing herself in parsley in an attempt to force a miscarriage. But that’s not what it’s really about. It’s just a simple Canadian low-budget romantic fable. Not my cup of green tea at all — but I liked it. It had a simple, weird charm.

If you’re sick of Avatar and Nicolas Cage and Star Trek and Hurt Locker, check out this forgotten Canadian gem.

Leave a Reply

