h1

Worst Music Video Ever of the Week: Obsession

November 11, 2009

I like this song, not that I can tell you why. It just has some kind of sweet beat, a poppy pulsation that has always appealed to me. There’s a rocky bit of guitar hiding in there, and the odd hint of good bassery. Despite the problems with the vocals, I thought this was a good pop song. And then I saw the video.

I wonder what those two singers think when they watch this now. Or were they even singers? They look like they don’t even understand what they’re lip-synching, and now that I think of it, Animotion later replaced its lead singers with two other people, one of whom was Pregnant Penny from Dirty Dancing, who was married to Richard Marx, and why I know this, I can’t say. Animotion was never famous for the vocals, and let’s leave it at that.

All of this is irrelevant. However good the song is, this video kills it. Roman centurions at the swimming pool? Court jester boots? Mullets? And let’s not forget the obligatory 80s closeup of stiff fingers jabbing at a Casio.

Did I mention I have the 12″ remix of this song? And Animotion is touring again, with its original lead singers? And I found a pair of neon green suspenders in my closet, right beside a can of mousse?

Leave a Reply

