h1

Hinterland Who’s Who: The Loon

November 4, 2009

Okay, I like this one. I have spent many nights on isolated northern lakes, places without roads, and the call of the loon is a signal that everything is all right in the universe.

The Hinterland Who’s Who guy, whose voice is imprinted into Canadians like a maple leaf tattoo, calls the loon’s call “haunting.” I guess he’s right. But I always found it a familiar, reassuring friend as I tended the fire, as I made pemmican, as I waxed my paddle.

This concludes my obligatory Canadian Content for this week.

One comment

  1. There’s nothing more comforting than a Hinterland Who’s Who. I’d love a DVD of them all. And all the Bob Ross episodes too.



Leave a Reply

