h1

Ryan Reynolds and his Webophobia

October 5, 2009

Canadian actor Ryan Reynolds doesn’t like to Google himself. Here’s what he said about this recently: “One was ‘Make Ryan Reynolds Your Biatch’. I didn’t get into it too much because I know there are going to be PhotoShopped pictures of me with a ball gag and nipple clamps.”

PhotoShopped. Sure, Ryan. Those pictures were made with PhotoShop.

Ah, I’m just kidding. I actually like Ryan Reynolds a lot. Let me think of some positives:

  • He has played two comic-book characters already (Hannibal King and Deadpool), is set to play a third (Green Lantern) and would still play a fourth if possible (The Flash). Green Lantern is my favourite super-hero of all time, and I think Ryan can pull off Hal Jordan perfectly.
  • He’s got that smartass sense of humour I enjoy, but we don’t always get to see it. He reins it in when necessary, such as in a little movie called The Nines. I recommend that one. Even when he’s in stupid movies like The Proposal, he’s acceptable. I’ve yet to see a bad performance from him. I’ve yet to see a great performance, but nothing overly horrible.
  • He married Scarlett Johansson.
  • He was Macro on The Odyssey. Bet you didn’t know that. The Odyssey is a weird little slice of Canadian television; it was about a kid in a coma whose mind travelled through a bizarre parallel world occupied only by kids. If you follow that link, Ryan’s the guy in the military uniform.
  • He was in a really weird and cheesy TV series called Two Guys, a Girl and a Pizza Place, but he made it work and was pretty funny on a consistent basis. Later, it became Two Guys and a Girl, but strangely starred three guys and two girls. I stopped watching it when it became Two Guys, and starred only five women. That made no sense.
  • He was funny in the underrated shot-in-Canada movie Just Friends. He led a great cast that included Chris Marquette and Anna Faris; this movie never fails to make me laugh. And I don’t much like comedies. He and Faris were in Waiting together too; that’s a good little movie.
  • He married Scarlett Johansson. In Canada.

I know a lot of people find him smarmy and cocky and smug, and don’t like him because of that. I understand, and I sympathize. But please bear in mind that he’s probably still hurting a bit from the clamps.

3 comments

  1. That show was called The Odyssey? I’ve been trying for years to figure out what that show was!


  2. I don’t know much about Reynolds, but I love The Nines enough that I try not to hold it against him that he married Scarlett Johansson 😉


  3. Just Friends was hilarious! , but why did he HAVE to marry Scarlett J. , gaaah.



Leave a Reply

