h1

Black October 2: A Nightmare on Elm Street

October 2, 2009

I’m about to watch this again for the first time since it came out. This is because I am not a fan of the Nightmare franchise. I don’t much care for slasher films to begin with, and the Nightmare movies in particular. Despite their supernatural nature, I just never clicked with them. I think I enjoyed Number 3, Dream Warriors, most of all, but really, I would rather not watch these killer-movie franchises. This is how I have avoided most of the Friday the 13th series and most of the Halloween movies.

But the more I think back, the more I think I might enjoy the Nightmare movies at this point in my life. I think that when I first watched them, I lumped them in with the other big-knife crazed killer films, but in retrospect, they had a lot more going on. So with a remake/reboot in the works, I’m going to watch the original again.

Okay, I’m back. I’m going to stand by my original position. Yes, this is a very different movie than I remember, and a lot smarter, but it just isn’t my thing. I think I just have a problem with film franchises that hold the killer out as the protagonist, which is not what was intended here, but was definitely the outcome. Watching a killer prey on victim after victim does nothing for me without an intelligent, crafty storyline, and that isn’t here. It’s just another teen slasher movie, which ran its course, and became part of the reason Scream worked so well.

I do get a kick out of “And Introducing Johnny Depp.” Also, I met John Saxon at a film festival once, and he was a very cool individual, and also very short, but you get used to that with actors.

I did like Wes Craven’s New Nightmare, which was a metafictional attack on the franchise. And I’ll see the new one. I liked the new Friday, and I liked Rob Zombie’s Halloween. The sequel was terrible, but that first movie was a fine exploration of the concept. Hell, now that I think about it, I even liked the Texas Chainsaw Remassacre. But that’s a story for another day.

Leave a Reply

