h1

How My ISP Kept Me As A Customer II

September 15, 2009

As you may recall, I had some issues with my Internet service earlier this year. For a guy like me, who spends a lot of time in the digital ether with his imaginary friends, this was a major issue.

You can read my misadventures here.

Since then, things have been going fine … until a few weeks ago. My service kept cutting out abruptly, requiring me to unplug the cellular modem, wait, then plug it back in. Usually, that worked, and usually, it happened every few days. Then it was daily. Then it was a couple of times a day, including the time it died in the middle of recording a Starbase 66, leaving the Admiral and Ro wondering if I’d been caught in the transporter buffer.

Over the past few days, it has gotten significantly worse, dropping my connection several times an hour. I am not making that up. This morning, I tried for almost an hour to read up on whether we’ll be voting again if this government falls, and my connection kept dropping. I actually had to go outside and get the newspaper from the end of the driveway. I tell you, life throws real challenges at me sometimes.

I had had enough. So I called my ISP and ended up with a fantastic support guy, which is a rare thing. He had me wait while he tested other people’s connections in my area — this was a bit weird, especially when he said “Hmm, I can’t get into this person’s network because they have a firewall,” which made me glad I don’t do anything naughty online — but in the end he concluded my modem was likely to blame.

“No problem,” I said. “I have a spare.” Remember how I had bought a new one in February? It turns out I couldn’t return it because of some stupid store policy, so I’ve been stuck with it ever since. I’m glad I kept it. The guy on the phone had me switch modems, reactivated things and got me up and running.

One hitch: “I notice here that the new modem was a warranty replacement,” he said. I’m not sure what that means, but I took it to mean “You have to give us more money.” I walked him through the events of February (it’s a good thing I write this stuff down) and he said “Oh, now I get it.” Someone back in February typed the wrong code into my file, and this guy fixed it. Whew!

As we were waiting for my computer to tell me whether it was able to get online, the tech guy and I agreed we’d probably be Mac users if we could afford them.

Soon my computer was back online. An hour later, my speeds are faster, my connection is stable and all is well. My fingers are crossed.

I do appreciate good service.

Leave a Reply

