Archive for September 6th, 2009

h1

I Wish I Could Do This

September 6, 2009

Here’s a video of Senator Al Franken drawing the U.S.A.

Senator Al has had a rough go of it. He had to fight like hell to keep the seat he won, and he also starred in Stuart Saves His Family. I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. Crikey, I watched Stuart on SNL for years, cringing every time, then rented the movie, because I hoped it might be good. You probably know how that night went.

On a positive note, he’s a brilliant politician, smart comedian and wise leader, and he was really funny in Trading Places when he said he was dressed up as a baggage handler.

And he can draw America from memory. That’s a hell of a skill, and I wish I could do it. Heck, I’d settle for being able to draw Canada. For that matter, I’d be happy if I could sketch Newfoundland. This is yet another reason why I really like Al Franken. I do believe that a man who develops that kind of ability, which blends memory, geography and artisticality, can be a great leader, even if he was in the Clerks cartoon.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers