h1

Music Review: Peter Murphy, Cascade

August 22, 2009

This is one of the songs from Cascade, Murphy’s 1995 album. If you haven’t heard this solo outing from the Bauhaus frontman, you really should look for it. Murphy combines his angsty proto-gloom with things he picked up in a Marrakesh market to create some of the smartest pop of the 90s. Not a hit, but to me, that’s a good thing.

What you’re seeing here is not an “official” music video, but to be honest, I tend to like fan-made videos better.

Murphy deserves kudos for trying new things. His solo work is an eclectic pile of music, and I don’t like a lot of it. This album, though, is stellar. It has enough in it for the black turtleneck set to like, and at the same time manages to sound sunny and Mediterranean. That’s quite a feat.

Just to accentuate the surreality of what Murphy does, here’s an American TV clip of him performing The Scarlet Thing In You, another song from Cascade. Take a close look: The host introducing him is a very young Jon Stewart.

I like to think that after Murphy played, Stewart just stared into the camera with a WTF look on his face.

3 comments

  1. What amazed me the most about this clip was how full of a sound the band had…solid bass and drums, simple keyboards, and a guitar player really fleshing out the song with some great guitar parts. I was heavily reminded of Suede. Also very weird to hear “stay tuned for Joe Torre” at the end of that clip; he was the NY Yankees baseball manager at the time. The Stewart show was a fave of mine back when it was on…I’m glad he landed on his feet and moved on to bigger things, but his first, late night, show was edgy and funny, and I was quite bummed when it got cancelled. I remember being peeved at the tv execs for not realizing how good of a thing they had here. I also think Jon Stewart really enjoyed the good bands…for his last show, he hand-picked Buffalo Tom to be his final band, and introduced them as “I like good music, and this is good music!” — and he was right, I went out and bought Buffalo Tom’s latest CD the next day! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9x51ceXyhog


    • Sorry Weathereye, you got me fired up. I think you’ll find this wikipedia entry enlightening: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Jon_Stewart_Show

      I wish I could find some “Talk Show Jon” clips online, but no luck so far. “Talk Show Jon” was a fake Stewart head on a GI Joe (or maybe it was Ken? Can’t remember!) and other such figures, and was very risque (ala south park) in it’s humor. I loved that segment of the show!


  2. I still think ‘Deep’ was Murphy’s best solo record.



Leave a Reply

