h1

Microcasting

August 17, 2009

Like we needed another new word that ends with “…casting.”

A few months after I took Weather Station 3 off the air, I find myself missing the opportunity to tell you what I really think about things. So I’m trying this microcasting idea. It’s pretty cool. Chirbit.com is a Twitter-like site that allows users to upload short-form podcasts, music, rants, jokes, etc. I had heard about it a few weeks back, and today I decided to try it out.

  • Day 1 Review: Chirbit is great! It’s fast and easy to use (so far) and offers a clean, basic interface, which I love. There are no stats or anything like that, but that is no longer a priority for me, not for these little short jobbies. Besides, if this takes off, I can see third-party developers coming up with Twittery add-ons. There may also be issues with iTunes, as I’m hearing from listeners. It appears you can upload to Chirbit from an iPhone, but subscribing may be an issue. I’ll tinker with that as I go. For now, I like it as it is. So far, so good.

This will allow me to supplement this blog with audio without having to develop a regular weekly show. It’s kind of neat; Weather Station 3 began as a short test podcast, and grew into something else. Now I’m back where I started, sort of. Let’s see how this plays out. I’ve added an RSS feed to the right, as you can see, and I’ll do the Feedburner thing a little later.

Visit Weather Station 4 here.

Meanwhile, I’m remixing the old WS3 theme music with a new guitar bit, so you’ll hear that soon.

5 comments

  1. I might borrow this idea. Since the Mr. Dapper podcast seems like too large a project to ever get off the ground, tying chirbit to the blog might be the solution.


  2. It’s still too early to say whether I’m sold on this concept, but I like the idea of recording, editing, mixing and posting a podcast in under 15 minutes. It’s a neat treat.


  3. Hi,

    Do you have to sign up to chirbit to get another users RSS feed? I can’t seen to find yours…


  4. Nevermind, I signed up anyway and, hey presto, the link appeared!


  5. I’m still tinkering with the RSS. It doesn’t work in all readers.



Leave a Reply

