Archive for July 19th, 2009

h1

Rick Astley vs. Nirvana

July 19, 2009

Most mashups are sloppy and not very listenable. This is an exception.

The best mashups — video or audio — work when two factors come into play: the songs share a lot more than BPM, but not in ways you’d notice right away; and the artists involved are polar opposites. Like this one. Nice work.

h1

Deja Vu

July 19, 2009

I read a while ago that deja vu isn’t anything supernatural, paranormal or metaphysical — it’s just two parts of your brain receiving the same signal a microsecond or so apart, thus creating the momentary sensation that you’ve experienced something before.
But you might have had the feeling I was going to say that.

h1

‘Daddy, Why Is He-Man Wearing A Bra?’

July 19, 2009

My youngest son, Tarzan, has just discovered the Masters of the Universe. Not through any great marketing scheme, but through a used book sale we attended a few weeks back. The kids’ books were a quarter each, or five for a buck. I bought about 20 books, grabbing them at random. We go through a lot of books in this house of readers.

One of them was a children’s storybook featuring the Masters of the Universe. As soon as I saw the cover (above), I knew it would be bad before I opened it, and tonight, we finally opened it. Tarz wanted it read to him before bed. It was all I could do muddle through its bizarre combination of pre-school storytelling and comic-book word balloons, intermixed with pretty brutal violence. See that fine painted cover? The interior art looks nothing like that.

Reading to Tarzan, who just turned 6, is tricky business. He has a question about everything. And when he got his first look at He-Man, he was curious.

  • Him: “Who’s that guy?”
  • Me: “That’s He-Man.”
  • Him: “Is he tough?”
  • Me: “Yeah, he’s the toughest. Anyway, ‘He-Man raised his power sword and swung it mightily …’
  • Him: “Daddy? Why is He-Man wearing a bra?”

I had no answer. And as he drifted off to sleep, I started wondering about the Masters of the Universe and why the whole concept was so weird. I didn’t have the toys — they came out just as I was entering my teens, so I missed the whole thing — but I remember some comics appearances, and I’ve seen episodes of the cartoon. Now, after Googling, I have a few questions of my own:

  • What is going on? Sorcerors carry pistols? Magic castles and alien creatures? Swords ‘n’ cyborgs? I thought there would be some kind of well-thought-out backstory, but it turns out there never really was. This is what happens when toymakers and cartoon producers hash out a concept without really thinking about it.
  • Why are they the Masters of the Universe? They never leave their planet, which seems to be a stone-age barbarian culture with computers and flying cars. I still don’t get it.
  • Why is this guy called He-Man? Who thought that was a good name? For that matter, why does everyone else’s name have “Man” in it. Beast Man, Mer Man, Man At Arms, Ladies Man, Gets Beer On Poker Night Man … and then there’s Skeletor. He’s called that because he’s a skeleton. Get it?
  • Were the producers hoping nobody would notice the concept was just Black Star with blonde hair? Now, Black Star I remember, but what I remember about it is enough to make me wonder why anyone would want to rip off its concept.
  • In his secret identity as Prince Adam, why did he wear so much pink? Was it because he had to pretend to be a sissy, despite his massive physique? “Wow, I’d suspect the prince was He-Man if he didn’t cry every time his green tiger walked by. Say, doesn’t He-Man have a green tiger? Oh, right, He-Man’s green tiger wears a mask.”
  • Why does everyone have the exact same bowlegged muscle-bound body, with fur shorts? Are fur shorts really that sensible? And if Skeletor is a skeleton, why is he so buff? Is he a magic steroid skeleton? Like Carrot Top? Side note to casting directors for the rumoured new He-Man movie: Carrot Top is probably available.

There was, of course, a really shitty Masters of the Universe movie in the 80s. I took my then-girlfriend’s little brother to see it, but I’ve blocked a lot of that time period out. Reading about it now, I note that it starred Dolph Lundgren as He-Man (there’s a good sign), and, for some reason, Courteney Cox and Robert Duncan McNeill. Yes, this is the movie that launched Tom Paris into space. Thanks, folks. Strangely, the sequel was never made, and the script adapted into the early Jean-Claude Van Damme movie Cyborg. Thanks again, Masters of the Universe!

I just hope my kid forgets he ever discovered this.

h1

Why You’re Unemployed

July 19, 2009

I spent part of Friday at a local employment centre, taking part in a mandatory program for job seekers. This is part of a process I’m going through that could lead to the government funding my retraining for a new career; I am now certain that newspapers are in their final decade, and I know that I have to switch paths now before I end up in a blue vest, asking if you’d like a shopping cart.

The session was interesting, if not new; everything we learned is readily available on pretty much every job website out there. What I found fascinating was the group taking part with me. I know why I’m unemployed: newspapers are cutting back staff at a record pace, leaving tight competition for very few posts. And I really don’t know how to do anything else.

I turned up at the session dressed fairly simply: dark trousers, blue Oxford shirt, blue blazer. And I shined my shoes. As I quickly discovered, I looked like the Dad of the group. Maybe I’m stodgy and old-fashioned, but I made some observations about my fellow “students” that helped me understand why some people don’t have jobs.

  • Out of 20 people, at least half had facial piercings.
  • A third had visible tattooes, one of them on his neck. It was a big black star.
  • We were handed folders with key information in them. I’d say half the people simply placed the folders on the floor under their chairs without looking at them.
  • The guy sitting behind me played a game on his iPhone through the whole session, without turning down the volume.
  • Two women spent much of the time text-messaging. To each other? Couldn’t tell you.
  • A quarter of the people were dressed for the beach.
  • One guy was visibly hung over.
  • We were  told several times during the intake process to bring a resume, but I was the only person who did.
  • Showers and toothbrushes were clearly not priorities for roughly half these folks.
  • When it was over, and we were filing out, I noticed many of those folders still on the floor, forgotten and ignored.

I understand that this may sound a touch elitist. But that’s not my intent. This was my first foray into the world of organized job-seeking, and I was startled by some people’s attitudes toward it. Not that the counsellors at the job centre make any kind of decision about employment, but I do believe that how you conduct yourself in a situation like that is indicative of how you conduct yourself while looking for work. Of course, this really improves my chances of landing that funding, I suppose.

The only thing I have to decide is what field of study to pursue. I have a lot of options. Who knows where they’ll lead?

P.S.: I should point out that one of the job centre “teambuilders” who gave us a pep talk had an eyebrow piercing. I guess I’m showing my age.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers