h1

Today’s Moron: Jax, aka Jack Charon

July 14, 2009

Dear Jax,

I notice that you have removed my post on the X-rated teacher from your blog. And when you removed it, all the fun comments from Weather Station 1 readers around the world went, too. That’s too bad; those comments were better than my original post, which you stole and claimed to be your own.

Luckily, Google caches everything. Not the comments, though, which is also too bad.

Stealing other people’s work is pretty easy, especially in the blogosphere. The only way a writer can track down a plagiarist is by randomly googling lines of text, hoping they lead to thieves. Not this time, though. See, Jax, you were stupid; when you copied and pasted my post, you brought along an embedded link to an earlier story on my blog. And I noticed, thanks to WordPress’s excellent tracking system, that a whole bunch of people were clicking on a link at your blog to get to mine. Wait, no, I made that up just to be nice. It was one person.

Anyway, I clicked on the referrer link, and found my own work, with your name on it. I Twittered about it, and before long people were letting you know what they think.

Please don’t think I’m upset or angry. I’m not. This whole thing has been an interesting experience. People steal from me all the time, but usually it’s just an idea, or a joke, not a whole article.

And after reading your blog, I understand why you did it. We all want to sound a little smarter sometimes.

Best wishes,

Weathereye

P.S. You’re a douchebag.

8 comments

  1. “Author: weathereyeComment:Jakob called it like it is. Anyone who wants to read this post in its original form — which is exactly the same as this plagiarist douchebag’s version — can visit my site.”

    “Author: CaseyComment:This blog is intellectual theft. Either stop it, or I’m gonna set up a friggin’ base camp here and heckle your Weather Station stealing operation daily. Doubt me? Well, not only do I have two weeks off work right now, but I’m a lazy, lazy man. Look forward to your next post.”

    “Author: Matt SmythComment:Do you really want the fury of the internet down on your thiefing arse? I suggest you stop this now or I will make sure you get in much troubel for this your utter spot of uglyness on the blogging community. The orginal author of this is a much respected indivual so alot of people will want to make you bleed!”

    “Author: Mindy KinnamanComment:This was such a great read the first time I read it – on the WeatherStation website. Way to steal his post word for word.”

    “Author: John SpeirsComment:This is absolutely despicable, you claim that, “this blog expresses the thoughts, opinions and attitudes of the authors”, but it doesn’t; you’re claiming someone elses thoughts, opinions and attitudes as your own.”

    “Author: Magz_OneComment:Your a nob end. I hope no one actually read’s your blog as they are going to feel seriously let down that your a theif. If you can’t think of something worth writing about, don’t post anything. You make me sick”

    “Author: Matt SmythComment:Is it just me but I wonder if any of his posts are his, If you have a blog beware of this mother”

    “Author: Joseph Ingram from TexasComment:Author: Jack Charon?! Ha. Ya know I teach a class on avoiding plagiarism. You should come attend. If you have any integrity at all you will renounce your falsely claimed authorship. The academic and professional worlds have very strict punishments for this theft and a very narrow interpretation of those that practice it. Rest assured I will be reporting this fraud and I eagerly await your retraction. Someone far better than you put so much effort into crafting this post and to have you steal it hoping no one would notice is insulting to us all. At the very least you need to give credit where it is due.”

    “Author: MarkComment:Wow, I had to see it with my own eyes. It truly scares me that you would copy and paste someone’s hard work and sell it off as your own. It just goes to show that anyone of us could get taken for in such a manner. What were you thinking? Oh wait, you werent. The best thing to do at this point would be to apologize for your actions, and take down this poor excuse of a blog that you “created”. Quit while your ahead dude,or you’ll end up crossing someone and his friends who aren’t as nice as the beautiful group of people who wrote in before me, who watch out for each other. Good night, and Good Luck!!”

    “Author: Tim MorrisComment:Mate, you really have opened up a can of worms copying this guys work. I don’t think you could gave realised the amount of crap you were letting yourself in for, and it’s not even your first instance of stealing this mans work. Is all your work originally written by someone else? I almost believe it is. I think you should offer a snivelling apology. Perhaps you could write a post about being found out and what it’s like to be a thief (or you could copy and paste someone elses.) Seriously dude, this was the wrong guy to steal from, he is well respected and has worked hard to gain the respect that we show. Prove that you’re not a complete Bell-end and do the honourable thing.”

    “Ladies and gentlemen:

    I write as editor of the recently begun blog Jax Points of View at; http://www.jaxpov.com Thank you for your recent comment concerning the article: Only in America.

    First please accept my apologies for this unacceptably published article. I apologize since it’s my responsibility as editor to ‘vet’ incoming articles for the blog. I was completely unaware that this was a pre-published article wrongly copied by its author from another source.

    Jax Points of View is currently engaging ‘stringers’ or contributors to the blog. This a first article received from one of them. This person has now been banned from our list of contributors and the article immediately removed from the blog.

    In as much as I’m able, all content is checked for source and veracity of authorship. To my knowledge all other articles are original and genuine.

    One last point, if I may.

    Many words in the comments received were aggressive and abusive. This also is unacceptable. The blog has a simple to find and easy use contact page. An appropriate message there informing of the transgression might have been more appropriate and would have been responded to with the same expedition.

    Once again, thank you for bringing the matter to my attention. I trust you will accept the apology rendered and the matter may now be closed. If you have any further comment please do not hesitate to contact me directly to this email address.

    Thank you for your attention.

    Yours,

    Jack Charon (editor)
    http://Www.jaxpov.com


  2. Maybe you didn’t get the email, so here’s a copy to ‘put the record straight’ for your readers. Clearly you have autonomy over your comments and it may be deleted. However, I’m judging you’re braver than that. We’ll see…

    I write as editor of the recently begun blog Jax Points of View at; http://www.jaxpov.com Thank you for your recent comment concerning the article: Only in America.

    First please accept my apologies for this unacceptably published article. I apologize since it’s my responsibility as editor to ‘vet’ incoming articles for the blog. I was completely unaware that this was a pre-published article wrongly copied by its author from another source.

    Jax Points of View is currently engaging ‘stringers’ or contributors to the blog. This a first article received from one of them. This person has now been banned from our list of contributors and the article immediately removed from the blog.

    In as much as I’m able, all content is checked for source and veracity of authorship. To my knowledge all other articles are original and genuine.

    One last point, if I may.

    Many words in the comments received were aggressive and abusive. This also is unacceptable. The blog has a simple to find and easy use contact page. An appropriate message there informing of the transgression might have been more appropriate and would have been responded to with the same expedition.

    Once again, thank you for bringing the matter to my attention. I trust you will accept the apology rendered and the matter may now be closed. If you have any further comment please do not hesitate to contact me directly to this email address.

    Thank you for your attention.

    Yours,

    Jack Charon (editor)
    http://Www.jaxpov.com


  3. So say we all.


  4. I wish I was still paying enough attention to twitter to have caught that! Plagiarism is a huge deal and I’m glad you caught it and it got resolved.


  5. The article was not published by a contributor; it was published by “author: Jack Charon.” WordPress contributors get bylines even when a blog administrator publishes the draft.


  6. Now it seems Jack has closed his blog and shut down his website. I guess all those people using Google to check the original authorship of his content scared him off.

    It’s nice to know I have such loyal supporters and good friends. Thanks, everyone.


  7. That’s weird he shut his site down. Unless his entire plan was to use only “stringers” submissions and decided it was too much work to verify they’re not stolen. Odd.


  8. Oh man, I missed some drama while on vacation.

    By the way, according to Google, my comment is entirely my own creation: No results found for “I missed some drama while on vacation”.”



Leave a Reply

