h1

Just Say No

July 13, 2009

Addiction has played a frightening role in my life. Family members have struggled with alcohol and drugs, and I was once married to a drug addict. It’s scary stuff. I like to think that I’m lucky to have avoided addiction, but that wouldn’t be the truth.

I was a smoker for a long time. It has been a few years now since I quit — it was a medical necessity, not a lifestyle choice, believe you me — and I’m now at the stage where other smokers tick me off. I noticed it Friday night at Ribfest; our friends are smokers, and there were a lot of other ciggie fiends around us, and the smoke was bothering me. I didn’t say anything about it, because that isn’t my style.

There is, however, this:

But I’m still fooling myself. I’m a caffeine junkie. Hardcore. As the latest episode of Hooked (a drugs podcast, one of the best programs in the world) points out, caffeine is indeed a drug, and a popular one. I’ve cut back on my caffeine intake since leaving night work six months ago, and I’ve eliminated my megavice, Diet Coke, altogether, but I still have at least two cups of coffee a day. Not today, though. I’m on a health kick (trying to lose a little weight and boost my endurance). I skipped the coffee and went with green tea.

It wasn’t easy. Elizabeth bought a fancy new coffee maker on the weekend, and it looks all sleek and Star Trekky with its glowing blue LED display. I’m dying to try it. But I won’t. I have to go take a nap.

One comment

  1. That’s one awesome comic strip. Cigarette smoke really bothers me, to the point where I find myself (unconsciously) moving away from it.



Leave a Reply

