h1

Podcasting On The Cheap

June 30, 2009

Part of the appeal of podcasting is that anyone can do it. Really, all you need is the ability to say something and a way to distribute that something. Of course, while anyone can do it, it doesn’t mean anyone will listen.

Getting started in podcasting is fairly simple. My first stab at it was recorded with a microphone I bought for the kids to mess around with a few years ago. I think it was $10 at Wal-Mart. I soon learned the importance of quality microphones, USB interfaces and mixers, editing software and other technical tweaks.

But many people podcast via cellphones, or directly into their computers’ onboard microphones. Some forego computers altogether, recording into MP3 players or other gadgets.

And then there’s this guy. I think he’s my new hero.

I have no idea who he is, or what his podcast is about, but man, do I admire his ingenuity. Those microphones are sold at my dollar store; the tape makes it work all that much better, I guess, although I would be worried that heartbeats and tummygrumbles would be picked up by the mic.

I just wonder why he seems to be applying hand cream from that tube in the background while he’s on the air.

Leave a Reply

