h1

Today’s Moron: Smoking Mom-To-Be

June 27, 2009

How stupid is this woman? In addition to what you see here, her two other kids were running around unattended, without sunscreen or hats. Yes, I’m judgmental, but let me put it like this: Do what you want to your own body. Don’t ruin your children’s — born or unborn.

Do I feel a little pervy for shooting this at the beach today? Not really. As a great man once said, “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. Or the one. Especially if that one is a misguided stupid young lady who thinks it’s okay to smoke in what is clearly her third trimester.”

I didn’t try to hide my actions, although this is a crop; there were a lot more people around her. And I’ve blurred her face, because who she is just isn’t important. This is a public service journalism page, after all, and it’s important to draw attention to this symbol of stupidity. For all I know, she had a Wildberry cooler in that Gatorade bottle; wouldn’t surprise me.

The Internet is a funny thing. Nothing ever disappears. So there’s a chance that 20 years or so from now, a stunted, asthmatic person with random health issues will see this photo, recognize Mom and say “Wow, now it all makes sense.” I hope that doesn’t happen. But it could.

This woman is not alone in her stupid actions. If you don’t see a problem with what she’s doing, smarten the hell up.

4 comments

  1. I guess I’ve become cantankerous as I approach 30. Had I seen her do this, I would have made some smart alec comment. I hate that people are so selfish that their needs come before the health of their children.


  2. You know, I smoked for 16 years. I have 5 children. I stopped smoking with every single one of them. If I can stop for 9 months, anyone can. (I have since quit.)


  3. Okay, Mr. Weatherye knows me, he knows how I feel about a picture like this. When you are pregnant nothing is about you. The delicate life the lives and grows within is dependent on you for everything. Your baby feels what you feel, eats what you eat and yes, smokes what you smoke.
    I am married to a man who’s mother smoked and I expect drank with each pregnancy. She lost one child within hours of birth, had one born a month premature, and all her children were born with low birth weights. All had difficulty in school and yes, they all smoke. Moron is much too kind a word for this “lady”.


  4. There should be a test before anyone is allowed to get pregnant.
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!



Leave a Reply

