h1

Weather Station 3

June 7, 2009

This is the end of the road for Weather Station 3. I’m ending the podcast after 25 fun episodes. Why? Well, for one thing, summer’s closing in and I just don’t have the time to devote to the show. And let’s not forget — this was always meant to be a dry run for Starbase 66, a purpose it served well. And it’s becoming more and more difficult to come up with quality content. I’d rather not do it than put out weak shows.

There is also an ongoing problem with my hosting provider, which is playing yank-the-Canadian’s-chain in a pretty big way.

I’m not saying this is final. I may rejig things this fall and come back with something new. And I will always be on Starbase 66 each week. There may also be a new mystery podcast project percolating that would require my services … more on that later. Or maybe not. It may stay a mystery.

Thanks to everyone who’s been listening and downloading WS3, in its early incarnation at Clickcaster and its short run in its current form. I loved your feedback and had a lot of fun creating the show. I’ll leave the feeds up for another day or two so you can download old shows; if anyone really wants to hear them again, email me and I’ll send them to you.

See you on the Starbase!

12 comments

  1. Well, even if it’s quarterly, you should continue the show. You have a certain charisma, and that makes people want to hear what you have to say. I’ve learned more about real Canadian culture through you in the last couple of months than I have in a lifetime of thinking “Oh, Canadians, our cousins to the North”. You are a good reporter, intelligent, and have a god-given voice of god. Of course I’ll listen to SB66. Maybe you and I could hook up and do a Church chat or something for my Fatal Interview podcast at some point? All the best to you, Mr. K.


  2. Hi Kennedy.
    I shall miss your fine podcast although it pleases me to know I can still hear you on SB66. You are an intelligent chap who is pretty funny and you have a voice like the famous Canadian Maple Syrup. I wish you all the best in your future projects and I thank you for all the fine episodes of Weatherstation 3.
    Regards.
    Tim (Trekkygeek)


  3. This saddens me. But then, I understand. Nerd Hurdles leaves not much time for anything non-nerd hurdles related. Except playing MarioKart.


  4. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for the prosperous hours I’ve spent listening to Weatherstation3 . As Pucci says I’ve felt as if I’ve learned to know a piece of true Canada through this podcast.

    I hope that someday you will relaunch another solo show , the foreigner’s guide to Canada bits were podcasting gold and I think there’s a real niche for that sort of thing in podcast land.

    I can imagine how difficult it is to come up with stuff on your own , the life stories you shared with us were very moving and beautiful to listen to. Good luck with SB66 and have a nice summer!


  5. Sir, your podcast has been an inspiration to me. Your use of language and your deliveries of both your dry humour and serious discussions have had a profound affect, and I feel that after hearing your show I am more confident when I speak to a crows, because I steal from your ways of speaking and I know that my writing style has become more polished after hearing you speak.

    So thank you Kennedy, Weather Station 3 had been fantasic.

    Ben (Hayden Bloom)


  6. It has always been a pleasure, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t sorry to see the podcast go. On the other hand, the “something new” you do when you are ready has a wonderful foundation supporting it.
    Here’s one big listener thank you for all you’ve done already!


  7. Thank the maker that this bit of audio tripe will no longer be polluting my inbox. It’s about bleep-ing time!!

    Nope, trying to make myself believe that I won’t miss the show isn’t working. You know, I hope, how much I value and enjoy your contributions to the world of podcasting, especially on the Starbase, but your solo work has been wonderful as well. Hopefully you will fire off the occasional podcast torpedo whenever the muse strikes you. WS3 was/is quality stuff, and I thank you for sharing bits of your life with us.

    ::sniffle:: I love you, man!
    πŸ˜‰


  8. Thanks for the entertainment I’ve had from WS3. I will miss the podcast. I’m glad we’ll still get to hear you on SB66. I’ll still be able to read WS1 as well.
    I would like to request that you still send us foreigners interesting titbits on Canadian life via WS1. Your maple syrup farm episode was great, one of my favourite podcast episodes. It’s nice to hear infor from a native that’s not trying to sell holidays.


  9. Ah, you’re all making me cry. Thanks, everyone, for the kind words.


  10. Well, this wasn’t what I was expecting to read 😦 Sorry to hear that WS3 is taking a hiatus, but I’m glad to hear that it’s more than likely temporary (I completely understand the call of pretty weather is just too strong at this time of year).

    You’ll still read to me over the base intercom when I’m in lock-up though, right? πŸ™‚


  11. Damn you Summer time! *Shakes fist*


  12. Oh Bugger!!! No more WS3!!! Don’t think I’ve felt this bad since the end of Red Dwarf 8 and we realised that there will be no more! I hope, that like RD, there will be a return in the future…….just don’t leave it 10 years , okay??!!



Leave a Reply

