h1

I Guess This Is It

April 1, 2009

I’ve been thinking. Here I am, three months into unemployment, with very few prospects. This blog and my podcasting and other endeavours are fun, but they won’t pay the bills. So it’s time for a change.

My visit to a working farm yesterday really inspired me. There I was, dirty boots on my feet, hands in muck, and I was happier than I’ve been in ages. I knew, immediately, that I had found my place in this stupid, messed-up world.

We have this ridiculous reliance, we 21st-centurians, on the comforts of modern life. It’s dragging us down. And I’m tired of it.

As of tomorrow, I’ll be working on a farm as a general hand. It doesn’t pay much beyond room and board, but it’s clean, pure, honest work. I’ll be sleeping in a bunkhouse with the other hands, most of whom are newcomers to Canada, and working 12 to 16 hours a day. This is an excellent opportunity to get super-fit and healthy, and to reconnect with the pioneer spirit of my ancestors.

This also means I must cut my cyber-ties. I won’t be taking a laptop or cell phone with me. From here on in, the most advanced piece of technology I’ll be using is a rust-proof pitchfork.

In other words, good-bye.

Thank you all for reading and listening. Maybe I’ll pop by in a few months and give you an update. But if I don’t, please remember that I’m outdoors under the sun, one with the earth, smiling.

12 comments

  1. Bah. Ha.


  2. So I’ll see you back here next week then?


  3. I can get you a good deal on a butter churn and three slightly traumatized, er,… “used” goats, if you’re interested.


  4. Happy April 1st! The great Weathereye without his tech? You nearly had me but not quite.


  5. Mr Kenedy I know exactly how you feel here, its maybe not quite the same, but I’ve been starting to do these hour and a half to two hour walks outside into landscape…and its been pretty amazing. I don’t bump into a soul out there (so not really the same thing as you) but I had been at the computer for far too long. And outside seems incredibly new and fresh…and fresh air is a great thing.


  6. oh crap…it’s a April 1st joke?…lol


  7. It may not be…it *may* not be…whos to say?


  8. hahahaha , Wow Mike. You should know that Mr.Weathereye lives in an area where ample solitude can be found . From what he’s told us in the podcasts his residence is situated on an ideal ( almost utopian) spot.That spot being where pure nature and the annals of Mass-consumer convenience converge.


  9. There’s nothing utopian about anywhere in Ontario. I just realized my own for serious blog post today might be taken as an April fool… grrr…


  10. Funny, that I forgot for a second it was April Fools, and my heart made a little jump at the prospect of losing your day to day brilliance. It’s funny as hell, but, also reminded me how much I would miss one of my imaginary friends, were they to move on to greener pastures, so to speak. 🙂


  11. The only bit of truth that I sussed out of that entry was the last bit about you smiling. Silly Kennedy – Bajorans don’t do “April Fool’s Day” 😉


  12. I wish you luck, my friend. I have heard horrific tales of slavish servitude and misery from the great Canadian llama pits. May you not live to regret your foolish decision.



Leave a Reply

