Archive for April 1st, 2009

h1

I Guess This Is It

April 1, 2009

I’ve been thinking. Here I am, three months into unemployment, with very few prospects. This blog and my podcasting and other endeavours are fun, but they won’t pay the bills. So it’s time for a change.

My visit to a working farm yesterday really inspired me. There I was, dirty boots on my feet, hands in muck, and I was happier than I’ve been in ages. I knew, immediately, that I had found my place in this stupid, messed-up world.

We have this ridiculous reliance, we 21st-centurians, on the comforts of modern life. It’s dragging us down. And I’m tired of it.

As of tomorrow, I’ll be working on a farm as a general hand. It doesn’t pay much beyond room and board, but it’s clean, pure, honest work. I’ll be sleeping in a bunkhouse with the other hands, most of whom are newcomers to Canada, and working 12 to 16 hours a day. This is an excellent opportunity to get super-fit and healthy, and to reconnect with the pioneer spirit of my ancestors.

This also means I must cut my cyber-ties. I won’t be taking a laptop or cell phone with me. From here on in, the most advanced piece of technology I’ll be using is a rust-proof pitchfork.

In other words, good-bye.

Thank you all for reading and listening. Maybe I’ll pop by in a few months and give you an update. But if I don’t, please remember that I’m outdoors under the sun, one with the earth, smiling.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers