h1

“I’m a Marvel.” “And I’m a DC”

March 8, 2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1n3VSw1XBOo

And people say I’m too fixated on action figures. Sheesh.

Seriously, though, this raises some interesting points:

  • Wolverine and The Watchmen were two of the 1980s comic concepts that changed the genre forever
  • Frank Miller’s take on Wolverine (and his work on Daredevil, etc.) were a pivotal part of that revolution in comicry, taking the industry away from colourful spandex and into real ideas, dark themes and mature content.
  • Frank Miller also wrote 300, which was made into a movie by Zach Snyder, who was then tapped to make Watchmen
  • Wolverine’s solo movie comes out this summer. Strangely, even though he was the focus of the three prior X-Men films, the producers are going to great lengths to highlight the new characters showing up in this film: Gambit, Deadpool, etc. And, for some reason, Liev Schreiber as Sabretooth, which doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, but I can live with it.
  • The Watchmen opened this weekend. I still haven’t seen it. Mrs. Weathereye came to see The Dark Knight with me in a trade for Sex and the City. But I also brought her to Spider-Man 3, Superman Returns and X-Men 3, so she now tells me there will be no more superhero movies for her. And I can’t take my son. He’s okay for Star Trek, but not this.
  • So I’m re-reading the Watchmen comic yet again.
  • I’m still looking forward to the Wolverine movie. I’ve explained why before.
  • Snikt!
5 comments

  1. You could always tell Mrs Weathereye that Watchmen isn’t a superhero movie. And afterwards, point out that only one out of many characters had actual superpowers.


  2. I’ll leave that with you, amigo. Let me know how that works out for you.


  3. I don’t suppose throwing yourself on the mercy of the court due to the unmitigated suckitude of those three films would get you anywhere? No, I guess not. I like the video, though.


  4. I actually did tell that to a friend of mine. I’ll get back to you after we (me and about a dozen others) see it.


  5. It worked out very well 🙂



Leave a Reply

