h1

Big Bad Hair: Worst Music Video Ever Of The Week

March 7, 2009

Here’s a real champ from 1985. Raven was a brothers act from England who combined Alice Cooper, Iggy Pop and what appears to be hockey equipment from a thrift shop. Plus spandex. Watch it closely for its full effect; note the classic 80s metal facial expressions.

My favourite moment comes when the drummer throws away his sticks and just starts punching his kit.

This has been in my video collection since I first taped it off television in 1985. And I still like hauling it out for a chuckle. Of course, I should remind you that when I say “worst music video” I mean it in a good way. I love the bad stuff. I live for it.

Strangely, the song itself, On and On, has an interesting and unique structure; blatant English accents were uncommon in 80s American-style metal, and it makes for a fairly decent sound. Of course, in pure 80s fashion, the album this song came from was called Stay Hard.

There isn’t a lot about Raven out there, but according to Wikipedia they’re still together and still touring. Here’s their official site, which features a photograph of Newcastle Brown Ale. Like metal maniacs, podcasters like their Newky Brown, too. I wish I’d heard more Raven, now that I think of it. Maybe I’ll see what I can track down. While a lot of 80s metal hasn’t aged well — actually, most of it — some of this more experimental stuff has an enduring quality that was overlooked back in the day.

Meanwhile, I’m still looking for a few more thoughts for my Anti-U2 episode of Big Bad Hair. You can agree with me that U2 is overrated tripe, or you can defend their honour. I’ll read your emails or play your audio clips, and also probably try to be funny. Contact me via this site if you want to take part.

2 comments

  1. Oh man… I used to love Raven. And somehow had forgotten all about them. Apparently they started with the hockey gear because they kept injuring themselves on stage. I now realize that was made up for interviews. But when I was 13 it was a great story.


  2. Yowzers! It’s like KISS and Twisted Sister mated…



Leave a Reply

