h1

Fraud Stewart

February 15, 2009

I was just going through some old photos and found this series, which made me laugh out loud. I’d forgotten all about this guy.

We went to Toronto about three years ago to visit old friends of Mrs. Weathereye. After a day spent at the Royal Ontario Museum, we headed back to their cool apartment to get caught up and enjoy a fine meal. Afterward, the man of the house and I retired to the garage, which faced the street, for a good cigar. I am not actually a cigar smoker, but I had just quit smoking cigarettes a few weeks before and thought this was a good way to sneak a little nicotine into my system.

While we were out there, the neighbour stopped by. And she brought a friend: Joe Pesci. Well, I thought it was Joe Pesci. It turned out to be a guy named Sam. And this is how the conversation went:

  • Me: “You know, you look a lot like Joe Pesci.”
  • Sam: “I get that all the time, let me tell you. I usually just tell people ‘Fugeddaboutit.'”
  • Me: “Except for your hair. You’ve got a real Rod Stewart thing going on there.”
  • Sam: “Well, that’s because I’m a professional Rod Stewart impersonator.”
  • Me: “Uh, what?”
  • Sam (Breaks into song) “Maggie, I think I got something to say to you …”
  • Me: “Holy shit. That’s dead-on.”
  • Sam: “I make a good living at it. You know what I call myself?”
  • Me: “Uh, Joe Pesci as Rod Stewart?”
  • Sam: “Hey, you’re a funny guy. No, I go by Fraud Stewart, Mr. Funny Guy.”
  • Me: “You mean, let me understand this because, you know, maybe it’s me, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?
  • I might not have actually said that last part.

Anyway, from the mini-show he gave us, I could see that Fraud Stewart was really good. And he was a born showman. He ended up sticking around for an hour or so, and it was a real hoot.

He was so good at what he did that after a while we forgot he was Sam and started acting as though Rod Stewart was actually hanging around with us. Well, Joe Pesci as Rod Stewart. See, he could sing just like Rod. But when he spoke, it was all Cousin Vinnie.

I’ve met, interviewed and partied with a lot of celebrities through my work, so many that I’m a little jaded. So it’s neat to remember this guy, who isn’t famous, probably never will be, but was a real star all the same. I just googled him, and can’t track him down, and since I don’t know his last name, I have no way of getting ahold of him.

But if I ever do, I’ll throw a party and book him as the headliner. It’ll be a blast.

One comment

  1. So there was this lady I used to work with named Jan, her husband and her were HUGE Rod Stewart fans. Funny thing is, her husband REALLY looks like him. Hair and all. Whenever they go to concerts, people approach them. To the point where he even fooled somebody into giving them an autograph. Great story, btw!!



Leave a Reply

