h1

Public Domain Horror: The Red House

February 2, 2009

This is a real gem, a dark country gothic thriller I first discovered on late-night TV about 20 years ago. It’s tough to find; I’ve never owned a copy.

That’s why I was pleased to find it at The Internet Archive, a fantastic site for public domain films. So I watched it again just now, and it’s every bit as creepy and strange as I remembered. I can’t really call it a horror film, but it does have some dark elements. It’s the story of a young boy who goes to work on a remote farm (owned by the ape-like Edward G. Robinson), only to discover there’s a terrible secret in the woods, a ghost from the past that has ties to the farmer and the young girl who lives with him.

I’ve put the YouTube clip here, but I really do suggest you visit the Internet Archive to watch the whole film. It’s a better version. But if you want to stick with the YouTube version, which loads much faster, it’s here.

Leave a Reply

