h1

The Second (or third?) Coming of Cracked

January 19, 2009

I loved magazines as a kid. Comics, of course, but magazines, too. And I was lucky to have a mother who felt the same way. So our home was always filled with stacks of all kinds of magazines: news, geography, science, politics. Maybe that’s why I know so many useless things; I was reading National Geographic, Popular Science and Macleans (the Canadian version of Time) every day.

But my favourites were the humour mags: Mad, Cracked and Crazy. Mad was the kingpin; when I pick up the odd issue now I almost weep for what was. Boy, it was funny back then. Cracked and Crazy were not monthly must-haves for me, and looking back, Marvel-owned Crazy was actually pretty terrible.

Cracked had its moments, though. And a couple of years ago, I was surprised to see a new Cracked No. 1 on the rack at my pharmacy. It featured Tom Cruise in parody of the 40-Year-Old Virgin poster, so, of course, I had to buy it. And it was pretty good. It was less a humour magazine than a magazine about humour, with a lot of stuff about standups and things like that.

It was the only issue I ever saw. I don’t know what happened, but in the ensuing time, the magazine has become one of my favourite websites. I don’t know why it works for me — it’s likely the list-based articles, which are unfailingly brilliant — but the tone and the intelligence of the humour at cracked.com is something that gets me through these rotten times.

Here’s an article that really impressed me, and the reason I’m telling you about this now.

This is probably old news to you. But if you haven’t toured cracked.com, give it a look.

Meanwhile, here’s a blog reviewing old Crackeds.

One comment

  1. I used to love Cracked, and Mad. I can’t remember which one did the Star Wars musical, but it was brilliant. Their movie parodies were the best.



Leave a Reply

