h1

Inside the U.S.S. Kelvin

November 28, 2008

Intel, which has partnered with Paramount to promote the new Star Trek film, updated its website today with an exclusive first look at the U.S.S. Kelvin. This is the new ship that reportedly appears in the opening of the new film (I have heard some spoilery details about this, but I won’t share them here — if you want to know, look it up).

I have a big crush on this ship. It bridges the time between the Enterprise NX-01 and the NCC-1701, showing us what was going on in that middle period. This is sort of a “lost era” of Trekness, one that has always fascinated fans, so seeing it onscreen is a real treat. And the ship is a fantastic design; it has a single warp nacelle, which surprised me, as I had always believed the nacelles had to work in pairs, but I guess that isn’t the case.

Aside from a lot of technical data about the Kelvin (which was named for J.J. Abrams’ grandfather), the site also offers a look at four crew members: Captain Robau (played by Faran Tahir, that wicked bad guy from Iron Man, helmsman Michael Johnson, a new kind of alien named K’Bentayr, and First Officer George Kirk, someone’s father. I like the brief look we get of these guys; their uniforms are different, but make sense, and they have that Shatneriffic slick ’60s hair from The Original Series.

Anyway, I nicked the images:

There’s a complete breakdown of all the information at trekmovie.com

You know, everything I see and read about this new film manages to get me even more interested in it. I know there are a lot of mixed feelings about what J.J. is doing, but I get it. I understand that the franchise couldn’t move forward in its previous incarnation, and it was time to kick its ass a little bit. So Star Trek will get a new look and its continuity may or may not be revamped considerably. The old stuff is still there, still available, and a future production may revisit it. For now, this is what we have, and it looks fantastic.

I will gladly accept a U.S.S. Kelvin model for my birthday next year. Just throwing that out there.

4 comments

  1. That’s awesome! I also want a USS Kelvin model.


  2. Roddenberry was adamant that the warp field needed to propagate between pairs of nacelles.

    Just sayin’.


  3. Brilliant! Love this blog stuff (I’m fairly new to this). I just came across these pictures during a lunchtime surf and posted them on my own blog myself. Looking forward to seeing more of the ship


  4. Yeah! The Warp Field will destabilize and tear the ship apart without dual Field coils.
    Maybee she’s got a dual coil nacelle– like the Freedom and Saladin Classes?



Leave a Reply

