h1

Confession Time

November 28, 2008

Okay, I’m going to tell you something here that I have never told anyone. This isn’t easy. But I have to.

I am a V.C. Andrews fan.

Now, let me be clear here: I’m talking about the actual V.C. Andrews, not Andrew Nerdermeyer or whoever, the guy who cranks out bad novels for a paycheque under the V.C. Andrews byline. Really, folks, V.C. Andrews died in 1984 or thereabouts and yet still puts out five books a year … figure it out.

My mother brought Flowers in the Attic home, in paperback, in 1979. I was 11. It caught my fancy, so I read it. I read all the books in that series, along with My Sweet Audrina. None of the others, though. I just now went to a fansite and saw tons of other weird series about girls in peril written by Nerdierman and, sorry, not going to happen.

Flowers in the Attic is one of the scariest books ever written. It really is. It isn’t great literature. It’s not even good fan fiction, looking back at it now. But it’s scary. The sequels are a little soapier, but still chilling (Andrews didn’t write all the sequels).

My Sweet Audrina, which isn’t part of that series, is the most hypnotic bit of hallucinogenic mindfuck I’ve ever read. If you aren’t a reader of these books, put all your preconceptions out of your mind and just read this book. You may learn something about how time and perception relate, or you might cry, or you might say “Weathereye needs to adjust his medication.”

These are books about children in danger, which is the scariest thing you can write about. Forget zombies, forget vampires, forget giant monsters from space; in a world with people like Josef Fritzl and the guy they’re calling the British Fritzl, books like these ring so true their horror is at a whole new attic-high level.

I like scary things. I like horror books, horror movies. And I guess Flowers in the Attic really scared me as a kid, which is why it still holds that appeal for me now (I re-read the books earlier this year). Maybe it’s because I’m a parent. I don’t know. The horror in those first books is real horror. It’s terrible parents, evil and secrets. Real frights.

What I can tell you is that I am not your traditional V.C. Andrews reader. But I’m okay with that. I think the real V.C. wrote some very scary horror books; the commercial enterprise that has been churning out crud for the past 25 years (the current paperback of Flowers in the Attic looks like an ad for One Tree Hill) is something I know nothing about. If you put that shit out of your mind and just read the originals, you might find some good chills on a cold November night.

5 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of her but I think I might check her out at the library.


  2. I cant beleive you actually described FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC as scary, what are you … 5 years old. Its the best book ever but never have I descibed it as SCARY! I actually feel sorry 4 you.


  3. Yes. Yes, I am. Thanks 4 stopping by.


  4. I am such a VC Andrews fan and have read all of “HER” books many many times after reading Flowers in the attic reading anything else by any other person just cant measure up i just wonder why another writer cant capture her writeing style i mean even i reading her work see that her novels follow a pattern


  5. I just revisted her books recently too when writing an english reflection. I am a fan and will say so. That it is twisted is fine by me too. I have been reading blogs tracshing the novels; interestingly enough, these blogs go into detail desrcibing the books. ha. love-hate-fine line I would say.

    http://deeannadanger.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/dark-angel-my-reflection-on-v-c-andrews-music-and-literature/



Leave a Reply

