h1

New Watchmen Trailer

November 13, 2008

Uhhh … what the hell?

I’ve just watched the new trailer for next year’s Watchmen film, and my enthusiasm for this long-delayed project just got tossed out a high-rise window.

First, I should say that I am not a purist when it comes to movie adaptations. I have heard rumours of a change to the ending, and that’s fine with me. I like it when things are different from their source material, and I like it when they’re dead-on. I just don’t like it when they’re shitty.

The first Watchmen trailer, earlier this summer, was promising. But it had no dialogue. This one does, and what I’ve seen is not encouraging. Stilted, lame and stupid is what I’d call the brief snippets I just watched. With just a few short scenes to gauge, I got the impression these actors were embarrassed to be speaking their comic-book dialogue.

And for some reason, the heroes of the movie are actually referred to, in the trailer, as The Watchmen, like it’s the name of their super-hero team or something. That’s not cool. There’s a reason the comic was called The Watchmen, and it had nothing to do with some second-rate JLA.

Zach Snyder is a powerfully visual director. And he has the look of The Watchmen down cold. The characters look the way they should (in particular: an unrecognizable Patrick Wilson as beefy Dan Dreiberg, with that perfect Dreiberg hair). The costumes are adjusted for film, and that’s fine, but they retain their spirit and look great. The effects and action are spectacular.

But as soon as you hear Rorshach’s voice, and he sounds like a regular guy, and he’s saying “Someone’s pickin off costumed heroes,” you have to wonder if Snyder really understood that it was the writing that made the original comic what it was, not the action scenes.

Well. I’ll still see it, because that’s what I do. But I fear Alan Moore may be proven right yet again.

3 comments

  1. I’m still enthusiastic about it, visually it looks stunning and the dialogue doesn’t bother me as that’s what my reaction to reading the graphic novel was. I love the graphics and the storyline but the actual characters and the dialogue felt flat.


  2. Enthusiasm has been slightly dampened. Rorshach doesn’t quite sound right, I always had him down a being more creepy in the voice.


  3. I have yet to read The Watchmen, but that guy looks an awful lot like Der Fleidermaus from The Tick.



Leave a Reply

