h1

My Brilliant Little Geek

October 31, 2008

My youngest son is five, brilliant, funny, extremely cute … and he knows all this.

A while back, he wandered into the Weather Station and noticed the screensaver on my laptop: the Enterprise, the 1701, the original ship. He looked at it for a moment, then turned to me and said what is probably the best thing a child has ever said to me: “Is that the ship that brought you to this planet?”

Of course, I said “yes,” not thinking much of it at the time. Well. Since then, the little guy has concocted an entire sci-fi scenario better than most movies, all to explain just how it is that he and I (not his siblings, or anyone else) happen to be from a different planet.

He talks about it all the time. He told his teacher, in earnest intensity, about how we left our planet many years ago and took a long time to come to Earth, because we wanted to help people learn to play video games. He tells people that we look like humans because we all came from the same place a long time ago, only we went to our planet and the rest of you came here.

Yesterday, he and I were flopped on our backs in our field, watching a small plane cross the sky. “That’s smaller than our ship,” he said. I agreed. And then he came out with this:

“Did you know that gravity is different on our planet? And we have a thing we had to put in us to make gravity the same for us on Earth.”

“Really?” I asked.

You should know that he has a very serious voice. “Yes,” he said. “And if you take it out you would float up to the clouds and that’s where you would have to live.”

Now, what struck my about this is (a) it’s pretty inventive for a kid who just turned 5, and (b) it’s remarkably similar to a story I wrote when I was a kid about people who lived in cities hidden in the clouds. So I don’t know what’s going on here, but I’m pretty sure my kid is something exceptional.

All in all, I’m pretty happy to have a little sci-fi genius hanging around. It makes me feel like I’ve done something right for a change.

2 comments

  1. That’s totally cool. 🙂


  2. That’s both cool and amazing 😀

    You never know, maybe your kid *is* from another planet 😉



Leave a Reply

