h1

Today’s Podcast: Rob Has A Podcast

November 17, 2010

This is a show about television hosted by Rob Cesternino, a guy you might recall from Survivor: The Amazon. He was the guy with the magic 8-Ball, remember? Rob was called “the greatest player to never win” by host Jeff Probst, and I would have to agree. I don’t watch Survivor anymore, and haven’t since Guatamala, so I don’t know for sure, but Rob’s twisty, devious play during the Amazon season was brilliant, and loaded with Machiavellian twists that made me wish I were better at office politics.

Afterward, he did a bunch of other stuff, worked with Shatner, and has now landed on iTunes with Rob Has A Podcast. To be honest, I don’t listen to it all the time, because he frequently talks about shows I don’t watch, like Jersey Shore, Big Brother, Survivor and, uh, all other television shows. But he has occasional shows on Lost, which is how I found his podcast. And they’re good. He has interesting celebrity guests and solid, engaging discussions, and anchors things with his trademark goofy laugh-along enthusiasm. You know what I’m talking about. When I was a kid, my friend Andrew, who usually wore long-sleeved turtlenecks and shorts, thought everything was hilarious (“Check out my dinky car! It’s awesome!”). Rob is kind of like that. Which is why I like him; he’s a pop-culture supergeek who actually knows all these people, and speaks to them as friends, not as guests.

If you watch any of the stupid shows Rob watches, you would probably like this podcast even more than I do.

Rob Has A Podcast. And a website, which sadly features Jonny Fairplay, who is probably the only “professional wrestler” I could beat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

