Archive for May 20th, 2010

h1

The Peter Blaskovic Experience

May 20, 2010

Thank you, Peter Blaskovic. I don’t know you. You don’t know me. But my children and I have discovered your amazing website, and the heartsparking ideas you have, and it led to a moment I will always remember: my three children sitting around a table, each at a computer, each creating art with your concepts.

For those of you who have never explored this stuff, start here, with Flame. It’s what I used to draw that thing up at the top there, which took about a minute. Play with it. Change the noise of your brush, or the colour. Mess around. Have fun. Create.

When you’re ready, click here to learn that Blaskovic has been at this for a while, and he knows what he’s doing, and he puts it out there for us to enjoy. He asks nothing in return. He simply shares. Now that’s art.

I used to be an artist. Somehow, along the way, it slipped from me. I can still draw a pretty mean cartoon, and I love to paint, but the passion vanished. My oldest son, now 11, has a tremendous artistic gift, something we indulged for years until, over the last few months, he has decided art isn’t cool. Until he found Flame … now he’s cutting loose, and I see the artlight inside him glowing again.

Whoever you are, Peter Blaskovic, you got my kids interested in art again, and you have us all creating. Nicely done.

  • Update: I forgot to mention that I drew Mr. Demon up there with the mouse, but we’ve been using the Wacom tablet and pen Cogswell sent me, and getting some very nifty results.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers