h1

I’m Crushing Your Head! Again!

August 22, 2009

The Kids in the Hall are coming back to television with a new eight-part murder mystery set in small-town Ontario. This is excellent news.

Loving the Kids is actually part of Canada’s constitution. In return for freedom, equality, nationalized health care and free Gordon Lightfoot concerts, we are required to play hockey at least once in our lives, defend Celine Dion to foreigners and, of course, love the Kids.

It’s easy to like the Kids. Their self-titled sketch show was a TV mainstay throughout the late 80s and early 90s. Also, they made a movie, but all I can remember about that was checking my watch. Some things are better left on the small screen.

Which brings us to Shockton, their new series. Set in a small Canadian city, it will follow a weird and diverse case of characters, all played by the five Kids, as a crime unfolds. Think of it as Twin Peaks meets the Beachcombers and you’ll have an idea of what’s going on. I like the fact that it’s being made in North Bay, Ontario, where I lived for two years in the early 1990s. Nice city. I liked it a lot. As I recall, there were two identical A&P grocery stores within a block of each other, and I lived right between them. It was surreal. Kind of like the Kids’s comedy sometimes.

I had breakfast at the Mars Diner in Toronto once, and Mark McKinney was at the next table. But I think I’ve told you this before.

3 comments

  1. You have made my day! I love this show!! Some of my fondest college memories revolve around this show, including the time my suitemate and I ran around campus for a day shouting, “I squish your head!”


  2. And don’t forget: The bass player never gets the girl.


  3. The Kids toured with a live show about a decade ago and I had the good fortune to attend. It was one of the most fun evenings ever! While the Chicken Lady creeps me the f**k out, one of my all time favorite sketches of theirs was the one where the husband and wife are in bed and he starts going on about how salty the ham she made for dinner was. I want a tee shirt that says Bastard Brine on it.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

