Archive for May 24th, 2009

h1

Newspaper Headline FAIL

May 24, 2009

I’ve written newspaper headlines for money. Actually, I did it for a lot of years. And I have made some serious doozy mistakes in heads, one or two of which have required a correction. Maybe five, actually. Okay, nine.

None were as bad as these, which turned up this week at failblog.org, the fifth-funniest website on the Internet:

Or this new and instant classic, a key example of why you shouldn’t use text to fill space in Quark or InDesign templates:

This resembles an error I made once, early on; I composed a cutline for a photo while the photog was processing it (this is pre-digital), using XX to placehold the two people’s names until the photog could give me his notes (and the PMT). He did, and I added the names, but the version of the Quark page that went to production was the original. The photo ran the next day, starring XX and XX. I was embarrassed, but the people in the photo, more so.

This taught me a big lesson: don’t fuck up.

Headline-wise, I tended to lean toward tabloidy heads, big, bold declaratives, rather than more straighforward Man bites dog type of all-keyword jobs. This led to some interesting discussions with other editors over the years, and now I’m a blogger.

Writing headlines is a tricky science, and one I never quite mastered (which you know if you read this site regularly.) One guy who did get it right can be found here, in this great article.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers