h1

My Brother Was Hit By A Train II

May 5, 2009

I think he might really be a superhero. 48 hours after smacking into a moving train with his face, my younger brother is walking around, chatting, laughing. His horrendous facial swelling has subsided; he looks like he took a punch in the eye. Nothing new there. He has been a walking punch in the eye for most of his life.

He’s out of the ICU, staying in a regular room and eager to get the hell out. Friends and family are gathering. I’ve been working the phones all day, letting people know that he’s not only okay, he’s a comic-book character. Man fights train and wins, and all that.

Meanwhile, I finally reached our youngest brother and his wife out in Vancouver. They were already planning to visit later this month (with their perfect baby, whom I have yet to meet and spoil and all that). They were glad to hear Mr. Trainwreck is okay, of course. Soon, we brothers will be together for the first time in years, and I’m looking forward to that. All three of us have been in near-fatal accidents, and all three of us are still here: healthy, strong and, of course, manly as hell.

This is yet another adventure for my triple-X brother. It won’t be his last; let’s hope the next few aren’t quite so intense. Maybe he can take up speed-dating or something …

5 comments

  1. Glad to hear it.


  2. The superior mettle of the weathereye clan yet again makes me wish I, too, was lucky enough to be Canadian. Er, Canadienne? Either way, that’s wonderful news about how well your brother is doing. Please pass along kind words from your Starbase cohort :-)


  3. I need to know if Kip is short for Kipling and if you were named after either end of the subway line?


  4. I never thought of that, but no. I gave Kip his name when he was a baby because I couldn’t pronounce “Christopher.” My parents named me after some rich political Americans or something.


  5. Wow…your family is officially amazing. I’m so glad to hear that he is doing so well. Is this a super Canadian thing or just a trait of the Weathereye clan?



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

