h1

Mystery Photos: Life and Death

April 20, 2009

Do you recognize these guys?

My friend Steve found a memory card full of photos in Toronto, and he’s pretty sure someone wants them back. I’m going to let him tell the story (he posted it on Facebook tonight):

“… The electronic photo album starts the same way as countless others, with a single airplane wing framed by endless blue sky, shot through the window from 20,000 feet.

The small Kodak memory disk unfolds predictably – four friends posing on the plane, shots of the landscape, pictures of the bedrooms they’ll sleep in over the coming days or weeks.

It ends on a more jarring note – pictures of family celebrations give way to somber pictures of a man on his deathbed. A feeding tube comes out his nose, his lips are battered and bruised. An open casket, a flowery grave.

The dead man looks an awful lot like one of the travelers smiling at the start of the trip, one of the revelers who drinks beer with long-forgotten relatives and sings along happily as someone plays a guitar. But it’s impossible to say for sure – the eyebrows aren’t quite right, and the dying man’s face looks traumatized.

The person who took these photos intended to keep them for an eternity. Instead, they somehow ended up in my grocery bag. I called the grocery store – the Metro on St. Clair West in Toronto – but nobody has come asking.

I posted one of the photos on Twitter, we’ll see if the social-networking service is as miraculous as everyone hopes. I put an ad on Craigslist. And finally, I posted this note on Facebook.

I don’t know anything about the man who apparently lives, fights to live and then dies frame-by-frame on my computer screen. But I do know that someone is dying to get their hands on this disk, so if you see anything you recognize do let me know.”

Steve’s on a mission, and I’m helping out. Email me or message me via this site if you know who these guys are. Let’s get these photos back where they belong. I don’t know about you, but as I’ve been scanning and archiving old photos over the past few weeks, it’s become apparent that a lot of my photos are missing. As you may know, there is a house fire in my recent history, as well as some general disorderliness, and that’s a shame; I’ve lost a lot of pictures I would like to see again.

Maybe Steve can help these people see their pictures again. Fingers crossed.

One comment

  1. You can also send me an e-mail at ladurantayeATgmail.com….



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

